
Every state licenses or certifies treatment programs through its own agency, rule and renewal clock. Florida, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington issue one license per site listing each service; New York splits mental health from substance use. Accreditation never replaces the license, but Ohio and Indiana require it and Washington charges accredited agencies lower fees.
Every treatment program answers to a state before it answers to anyone else. Outpatient clinics, intensive outpatient programs, residential programs and detox units all need some form of state license or certification before they treat anyone, and the agency, the name of the credential, the renewal clock and the fee change at every state line. Accreditation, Medicare and Medicaid enrollment, and opioid treatment program approvals all sit on top of that state credential and generally assume it already exists.
The table and notes below cover only states where we read the statute, the rule or the agency's own page ourselves, as of October 2026. Where a state is missing, it is because we have not finished verifying it, not because it has no license. Each state's page on our behavioral health licensing index shows its sources and anything still being confirmed.
Who issues the license in each verified state?
| State | Agency | Credential | Term | Main citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Department of Health Services | Health care institution license, behavioral health facility class | Annual licensing fee | A.R.S. 36-407; A.A.C. R9-10-106 |
| California | Department of Health Care Services | Residential AOD license; outpatient AOD program certification | Two years each | H&S Code 11834.01, 11832.3 |
| Florida | Department of Children and Families | Substance abuse service provider license, one per site listing each component | Annual (regular license) | Fla. Stat. 397.401, 397.407 |
| Georgia | Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (since Jan 1, 2026) | Drug abuse treatment and education program license; narcotic treatment program license | Being confirmed | HB 584 (2025) |
| Indiana | FSSA Division of Mental Health and Addiction | Regular or outpatient certification | Regular certification tied to accreditation | 440 IAC 4.4-2-1 to 4.4-2-3 |
| Kentucky | Cabinet for Health and Family Services | Alcohol and other drug treatment entity (AODE) license | Annual | 908 KAR 1:370 |
| Minnesota | Department of Human Services | Chapter 245A license; SUD programs under chapter 245G | Being confirmed | Minn. Stat. 245A.03 |
| New Jersey | Department of Health, Division of Certificate of Need and Licensing | Outpatient substance use disorder treatment facility license | Annual renewal fee | N.J.A.C. 10:161B-2.1 |
| New York | OMH for mental health; OASAS for substance use | Operating certificate from each office | Renewal after inspection (OMH) | Mental Hygiene Law 32.05; 14 NYCRR Part 551 |
| North Carolina | Department of Health and Human Services | Chapter 122C facility license | Calendar year | G.S. 122C-23 |
| Ohio | Department of Behavioral Health | Certification of services and supports | Being confirmed | Ohio Rev. Code 5119.36 |
| Pennsylvania | Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs | Drug and alcohol treatment facility license, per location and activity | One year | 28 Pa. Code 709.11 to 709.14 |
| Texas | Health and Human Services Commission | Chemical dependency treatment facility license, per physical location | Two years | 26 Tex. Admin. Code 564.401 to 564.408 |
| Virginia | Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services | Provider license for each service | Being confirmed | Va. Code 37.2-405 |
| Washington | Department of Health | Behavioral health agency license listing each service type | One calendar year from issuance | RCW 71.24.037; WAC 246-341-0365 |
Two patterns stand out. Some states run one license that lists every service, like Florida's site license with its components or Washington's agency license with its certifications. Others split mental health from substance use: New York's Office of Mental Health and Office of Addiction Services and Supports each issue their own operating certificate. A program offering both kinds of care in a split state needs both.
Where is it a crime to operate before licensure?
The consequences of starting early range from a fine to a felony, which is a good reason to never treat a pending application as permission.
- Florida: acting as a substance abuse service provider without a license or exemption is a third-degree felony (Fla. Stat. 397.401(2)).
- Minnesota: providing a residential or nonresidential program without a license is a misdemeanor (Minn. Stat. 245A.03, subd. 3).
- California: an uncertified, non-exempt outpatient program can be ordered to stop and assessed up to $2,000 a day, and the operator is barred from applying for certification for five years from the notice (H&S Code 11832.18).
- Texas: an applicant may not provide chemical dependency treatment before written notice of licensure approval (26 Tex. Admin. Code 564.403(g)).
- Virginia: no one may be admitted, treated or housed by a provider that needs a license until the provider has one (Va. Code 37.2-405(C)).
Does accreditation ever stand in for the state license?
No verified state lets accreditation replace its license. What accreditation does is change the license's conditions:
- A precondition. Ohio requires accreditation from The Joint Commission, CARF, COA or another body the director accepts for initial certification since October 3, 2023 and for renewals since October 1, 2025, prevention services excepted (Ohio Rev. Code 5119.36(B)). Indiana's regular certification requires maintained accreditation and expires 90 days after the accreditation does (440 IAC 4.4-2-3).
- Required for certain services. Florida requires accreditation for every licensed component providing clinical treatment, with proof of application at the first renewal and proof of accreditation after that (Fla. Stat. 397.403(3)). Kentucky requires full accreditation for an outpatient program offering partial hospitalization (908 KAR 1:374, Section 5).
- Cheaper with it. Washington deems accredited agencies to meet its minimum standards and charges them lower annual outpatient and per-bed fees (RCW 71.24.037(2); WAC 246-341-0365).
More on this in where accreditation is required, and where it lowers state fees.
Which licenses stop at a sale or a move?
Most of these licenses attach to a specific owner at a specific address. A sale or relocation that is not reported correctly can end the license automatically.
- Pennsylvania: the license is not transferable; a change of ownership, name, location, activity or capacity must be reported on department forms within 90 days or the license expires (28 Pa. Code 709.14).
- Florida: a license may not be transferred, and a transfer includes moving a majority of the ownership interest; relocating a site needs 30 days' notice (Fla. Stat. 397.407(6)).
- Kentucky: a new owner files a fresh application with the $500 fee within 10 calendar days, and acquiring more than 25 percent counts as a change of ownership (908 KAR 1:370, Section 4).
- Texas: a license is not transferable to a separate legal entity or a different physical address (26 Tex. Admin. Code 564.401(c)).
- Arizona and North Carolina: both licenses are valid only for the premises named on them (A.R.S. 36-407(C); G.S. 122C-23(b)).
If you are buying a program or opening a second location, read licensing diligence before you sign and what to file when you move or open another site.
What do the states charge, where the fee is published?
State fees are paid by the program directly. These are the amounts in the rules we read:
- Texas: $1,200 base for an initial or renewal license, plus $125 for each site at a separate address and $35 per bed, all nonrefundable (564.408).
- New Jersey: $1,750 for a new outpatient facility and $750 for renewal, plus a $300 Department of Health inspection fee that the rule calls biannual (10:161B-2.1).
- Washington: $2,250 for a new agency, $1,150 per branch, then annual outpatient fees from $1,650 to $5,800 by service hours, or $830 to $2,900 with deemed status (WAC 246-341-0365).
- Arizona: a $50 application fee plus a $375 licensing fee for a behavioral health facility with no licensed capacity (R9-10-106).
- Kentucky: $500 plus $80 per outpatient extension site, every year (908 KAR 1:370, Section 2).
- North Carolina: an annual base fee of $215 for a facility with no beds, rising with bed count (G.S. 122C-23(h)).
Florida's statute sets a $100 per-component late renewal fee but leaves the regular fee amounts to rule, and California announced a fee increase effective July 1, 2026; we have not confirmed either set of current amounts, so we do not quote them.
How does this compare with the national picture?
SAMHSA's 2024 National Substance Use and Mental Health Services Survey counted 15,953 substance use treatment facilities. Of those, 11,009 (69.0 percent) reported a license, certification or accreditation from a state substance use agency, and 7,374 (46.2 percent) from a state department of health. Outpatient care was offered at 13,369 of them and residential care at 3,596. Those counts overlap, because one facility can hold several credentials and offer several settings, but they show how ordinary it is for a single program to answer to more than one state office.
What about states that are not in the table?
Our state pages say "requirements being confirmed" wherever we have not yet read the primary text, and we do not fill gaps with guesses. If you are opening a site in another state that is still being confirmed, a Facility Readiness Review ($149, credited toward a package) starts with exactly that research for your services and address.
How do we help with the state license?
We prepare the application and every attachment: the ownership and background packet, staffing plan, floor-plan narrative, policies cross-walked to the state rule, insurance evidence, inspection preparation and responses to any deficiency notice. Your owner or officer reviews and signs the application and pays the state directly, and any state portal stays in your own account. The State License package is $1,995 for an outpatient program (including IOP or PHP) at one site and $2,995 for a residential or detox site, with $595 for each additional site or service component. Every fee is flat.
Common questions
- Does every state license substance use treatment programs?
- Every state in our verified table licenses or certifies treatment programs, but the agency, the credential and the scope differ. We publish only states whose statutes and rules we have read; the others show as being confirmed on our state pages until we finish.
- Can accreditation replace a state facility license?
- Not in any state we have verified. Ohio and Indiana require accreditation as a condition of state certification, Florida requires it for clinical treatment components, and Washington lowers fees for accredited agencies, but each still issues its own license or certification.
- Do I need a new license if I move or sell the program?
- Often, yes. Texas licenses are not transferable to a new entity or address, Pennsylvania licenses expire if a change is not reported within 90 days, and Kentucky treats a purchase of more than 25 percent as a change of ownership needing a new application.
- Who pays the state licensing fee?
- The program pays the state directly. Our fees are flat and separate, and the owner or officer signs the application.
Need Help with Enrollment or Licensing?
We prepare your Medicare enrollment, accreditation survey and state licenses in the order CMS requires, for your official to sign, and track every one to a decision.
